Sound & Vision: Summertime Rolls

July Mood Board_5_sewstylist.wordpress.comJuly Mood Board_3_sewstylist.wordpress.com

California is synonymous with summertime. Ironically, my section of the state doesn’t get much in the way of a summer season. (Though, as I’ve written about earlier, this year has been uniquely lovely.) Never mind the weather, this time of year I’m thinking about slowing down, warming up, swimming, sandals, picnics, road trips, bonfires, getting lost, finding something new, and making out under the moonlight. This month’s mood board and music explore what all that looks and feels like for me. And what about you? What does summertime inspire you to do?

July Mood Board_2_sewstylist.wordpress.com.jpg.jpg

July Mood Board_4_sewstylist.wordpress.com

[image credits: one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine: unknown, ten, eleven, twelve: "My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive, and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.-M. Angelou, thirteen, fourteen, fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, eighteen, nineteen: unknown, twenty: a still from Suddenly Last Summer]

8 thoughts on “Sound & Vision: Summertime Rolls

  1. To me, it has been non-stop summertime since we moved to the Bay at the end of last year! Although I am judging by British summertime standards……

  2. I remember driving to San Francisco in late July 1991 from Texas. As we were driving to the hotel, I noticed people wearing leather jackets and thinking it was odd. I was so shocked how cool it was when we got of the car…and the evenings were down right cold!!!!

    • Oh, that image of you spotting leather jackets out the window is pretty funny! It sounds like you had an unfortunately common experience there. Wasn’t it Mark Twain who said, “The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco.” Alas, he was only slightly exaggerating.

  3. Summer inspires me to eat fish and chips on the beach with no shoes on, and to generally be outside exploring. It’s winter here though, which I am enjoying for other reasons. Prime knitting and sewing weather!

Leave a Reply

